mervfrench PHOTOGRAPHY

IMAGES OF AUSTRALIA.

For Fletch…….

Posted by mervfrench on July 11, 2011

Just so he doesn’t feel out on a limb  I ‘ve posted these so Christian doesn’t feel lonely in his endevours.

I bumped into Pete Hodgson on Sat. afternoon and he was taking a few shots around town.

On the rare occasion that I didn’t have a camera with me, I borrowed his G9 and shot a couple of altered landscapes.

I wasn’t going to do much with these but as CF put up an altered shot I thought I’d keep him company.

You can check out his post here

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

24 Responses to “For Fletch…….”

  1. Welcome to the dark side Merv!

    …and you even found a bin to shoot as well! CF is gonna love it mate!

  2. I do like the skip bin Merv!

  3. I am with ya on that one Merv!

  4. I don’t really get the fuss.. and I can’t figure out if Christian is just taking the mickey to see if all the clueless follow him.. or if he really is drinking his own kool aid now.. lol 🙂 I just don’t see any real artistry involved in a lot of the shots! That said.. shot number 2, that kind of almost appeals to me 😉

    – paul

    • mervfrench said

      Paul ,I’m not sure what it’s all about either at times.

      Sometimes i see one that grabs me and others …well, I don’t get it.

      I guess that is what arts about, there are no boundaries.

      A bit like music, there is some real rubbish about and then a certain piece of rubbish works and it just grabs you.

      Too hard to waste time thinking about it so I just go with the flow and see what happens .. as they say, if it floats your boat.

      • I think you just explained it better than I’ve heard anyone explain it.. the music analogy works really well for me.. some of the “rubbish” they are coming out with these days and calling it “music”?!? haha 🙂

  5. hodgy1 said

    Which one is the APPA selection ? I thought you would sit on these little gems and only bring them out on a special occasion.

    Not bad for canon photos, but make sure you format my card before you give it back. ha ha.

  6. Now that I have seen Peter’s version Merv, I am afraid i prefer his mate! I think shots like this need to be more square on! 🙂

  7. Christian said

    I like them Merv, and no definitely not taking the mickie out of anyone. I just think a good photo can have any subject matter. I think what I am trying to do is challenge myself to try different stuff. For me it is all exciting to shoot. Let me at anything, I’ll try to make a photo out of it!

    • mervfrench said

      There is something about the blue roof that kinda works for me.

      I know its a challenge for you. For me it’s a bit of fun, but it does make me think about photography in another way , so it can’t be all bad.

    • Fair enough Christian, I’m obviously not enlightened enough to get it.. that said I love a great grungy old warehouse to photograph and a lot of my work in 2006 was of the ruins and abandoned warehouses in the Melbourne Docklands precinct.. maybe I’m not that far away from it after all.. haha 🙂

    • I’ve started on a new concept.. of the landscape doing the altering! Nature reclaiming what was once altered by man.. I think it will be the next big thing 😉

  8. muzz said

    Nah bin ’em and start again. I thought you were a bush photographer 😉

  9. peta said

    Merv you got it right art has no boundaries, that whats makes every photographer, painter etc different. I love shooting weird stuff from the air and trying to make it art. You never stop learning and I guess thats a good thing.

  10. The comments page is like a comedy show……looks like the local hardware store made the final cut?? I’ll leave everyone else to do these “altered” photos!! I’m altered enough!!

  11. I love seeing photographs of different things that as a newbie to photography I never see, even if it is staring me in the face. Loving that bin shot!!

Leave a Reply

 
