mervfrench PHOTOGRAPHY

IMAGES OF AUSTRALIA.

An oldie but a goodie.

Posted by mervfrench on April 25, 2011

I’ve been sorting out a few images and found this one.  As I haven’t shot anything worth while lately   I thought  I would post this shot from the superpit in Kalgoorlie that I took  when I was last there.

26 Responses to “An oldie but a goodie.”

  1. True North Mark said

    Great shot of a Tonka Toy mate! 🙂

  2. I’ll second that! Great shot Merv…

  3. Love your superpit shots – everything in there looks so toylike. The contrast of the ‘little’ truck and the hard walls is excellent

  4. ianwiese said

    It is interesting to see the old mine shafts in the wall of the pit. They also give a sense of scale to the image. Great shot!

    Ian Wiese

  5. Hey Merv, that is a super cool shot! Might play around a bit with the cropping and TNFP filter it, but it’s really cool!

  6. muzz said

    It’s amazing how much we can change nature. It’s hard to imagine a 12 hour shift going up and down in that seemingly lifeless pit. I reckon this shot really shows the solitude of it well. Not sure if you got your horizon level though 🙂

    • mervfrench said

      I know a guy who drives these thing’s and he’s says it’s pretty boring. The truck changes gear at the exact same spot every load.

      I wouldn’t mind doing it for a week or two so I could say I’ve done it.

  7. peta said

    Great shot Merv, just love the simplicity of it.

  8. This shot looks awesome Merv, it looks like a toy, it’s just unreal how big these pits are.

  9. Christian said

    did you take this? too good for you!! brilliant Merv a yep from me. put it in a gold frame and it will sell.

  10. Love this shot Merv.

  11. Gina said

    As has already been mentioned…my first thought was “Tonka Truck”. So cool! Surely you did this in your backyard 🙂

    None of these mines, pits, etc…are publicly accessible here in the US. Did you sneak into this one or can anyone play? Very cool regardless.

    And thank for visiting and commenting on my blog.

  12. mervfrench said

    I wish this was my backyard Gina !!!

  13. Tony Middleton said

    Nice work Merv – cool tonka 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
