mervfrench PHOTOGRAPHY

IMAGES OF AUSTRALIA.

Mossman Gorge …. help

Posted by mervfrench on May 10, 2010

I need a bit of help here. I’ve done a bit of PP on this but run out of ideas as to how I wanted to look , sort of a writers block  for  photographers , I’m sure you’ve all had it.

I just can’t get it to look quite right ,  so if you have any ideas as to what you would do in processing this please tell me.   Dodge , burn , colour anything is fine , whatever you think.

Cheers.

12 Responses to “Mossman Gorge …. help”

  1. truenorthmark said

    Hi Merv,

    Do you have any Tony Kypers luminosity masks?

    If so I would activate the Dark Darks mask and bring out some of those darkers areas with a curves or levels adjustment.

    lso the water is very white in some areas, you could add a solid colour layer of a dark green and blend it down in soft light, Command I and then brush in some definition to some of that water.

    Also to get some glow to the highlights, merge the layers and put a gausian blur over the lot, blend with soft light, ad a mask and brush it into the areas where it looks the best.

    Try that and see how you go!

  2. truenorthmark said

    No worries mate…looking fwd to seeing the reworked version!

  3. truenorthmark said

    What’s your email address Merv?

    I have reworked it for you and saved the layers.

    Cheers,

    Mark

  4. Hi Merv, can’t top Mark’s suggestions unfortunately but I think that they would help to improve the image. Not sure about the sun on the trees in the background, draws the eye to the edge of the image rather the focal point? Still a nice clean image though

  5. wayte27 said

    Hey Merv, I think first of all give yourself a little more credit. Great composition with all the right elements, personally its the exposure for me, too dark around the rocks on the right etc and washed out in the water.What Mark has said will certainly rescue the image if thats what your after.
    Cheers Adrian

    • mervfrench said

      Thanks Adrian.

      I like the shot but i was just struggling to get it to look the way i wanted it to look , just didn’t like the direction it was going so I give up on it for a while.

      I have a couple more of the same gorge that I exposure bracketed so I’ll try them one day.

  6. hodgy1 said

    How come you can get CF’s looking so good but not your own, hehe. I was going suggest something but I reckon Marks covered it.

  7. Bryceworld said

    Hey Merv,

    Apart from the hotspots in the water which mark mentioned, I reckon it’s fine the way it is hey, I like it!

  8. Christian said

    bloody good Merv, a yep from me

Leave a Reply

 
