mervfrench PHOTOGRAPHY

IMAGES OF AUSTRALIA.

Got all Day Mate …….

Posted by mervfrench on March 11, 2010

I was just clearing up a hard drive and this one caught my eye.  I took this in 2005 with  a Canon G5 , my first digital camera and quite a camera in its day. It was shot while having a morning walk along the beach outside the Manderlay  Park in Busselton. These guy’s  really were prominent as they were the only ones on the beach for miles, where else in the world would you see that !!

I remember watching these guys for a while and they just stood there fishing and never said a word to each other.   I suppose I should have got a model release signed.

8 Responses to “Got all Day Mate …….”

  1. truenorthmark said

    Classic Merv!

    Reminds me of that movie..Grumpy Old Men!

  2. antonioranieri said

    Hey Merv nice shot buddy love the old blokes!! hehehe

  3. wayte27 said

    Great shot, you could make a joke out it, something from “The Far Side “.
    By the way do you need a model release even if you cant see their faces?
    Great simplicity to the image.
    regards Adrian

  4. mervfrench said

    Thanks all.

    As you can see it was just a point and shoot , but I think it does have a nice feel to it.

    Wonder what CF would do with it ? ( and don’t say trash it !! )

    Probably turn it black and gold and pick up an APPA with it. 🙂

  5. Are you sure they’re fishing Merv …

    Just add a bit of a vignette, some HDR and a sunset sky and you’ve got an award winner 😉

  6. muzz said

    I still have my G5 – it’s my beach camera and still takes a pretty good shot, and also makes stitching dead simple.

    I reckon if they’re not saying anything, then everything must be satisfactory!

    • mervfrench said

      Muzz , mine doesn’t see the light of day much now , but it has a soft spot with me.

      When i went to buy a digital camera I was using a EOS 1000 film camera and the cheapest SLR digital was something like 4k so I went for the G5 which cost me $1500, nearly s**t myself paying for it but what a revelation , no more shoe boxes full of crap pictures.

      • muzz said

        I justified mine as an upgrade from a Kodak DC240 1MP because the photos of our oldest when she was a baby were absolute crap. So now I have a hard disk full of crap pictures 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
