mervfrench PHOTOGRAPHY

IMAGES OF AUSTRALIA.

Sun Surf Sand ( Arty Stuff )

Posted by mervfrench on July 4, 2009

_MG_921225

I  took this shot a few weeks ago at Cottesloe  on the night of the lightning shot and I also  lost my car keys ( see post below ). 

I’ve copied the idea from Jamie Patterson , sorry Jamie its not quite up to your standard, anyway I was just playing around and came up with a few of these. Now this is nothing special in fact it’s not much at all but I think the idea has some merit and it’s something I’ll try again one day.

I’m sure if this was done by an artist with a name it would get rave reviews and sell for $25000. I don’t have a famous name or reputation yet so get in on the ground floor and buy this one off print for $10000 and then sit back and watch your investment grow as my name gets more well known.

5 Responses to “Sun Surf Sand ( Arty Stuff )”

  1. Hi Merv,

    This stuff takes heaps of practice and even more luck. I’ve not managed to get a decent shot like this in ages. I think mornings are better for this as the inside of the wave isn’t in shadow. Also to get the best results you need to hold your shutter open for 1/4 of a second, that seems to be the magic number.

    Keep it up.

  2. mervfrench said

    Thanks Jamie, your the master at this…. (:

    Not much science to this shot just click while swinging the camera from left to right, as I said I was only playing around, but it has a arty farty look to it I think.

  3. you can not be facing the wave action either if you are truly looking at doing wave panning, you need to get as far as you can side on and follow the wave in a panning motion for anywhere from 1/8 to 1/2 sec depending on the speed of the wave. pan in the direction of the wave before it breaks and you should be pretty right.

    really nice colours Merv

  4. mervfrench said

    Thanks Neal…I tried a couple side on to the wave as your supposed too but they weren’t much good so I just played around with a couple from the front so see what I came up with. The colour is pretty good but it was a good sunset that night.

  5. Tony Middleton said

    WOW – you’re getting all arty Merv ! Who would have thought this possible ? I can see the headline ‘Million dollar Merv gets arty’
    I see what you were trying to do here but I don’t think it quite come off this time.

    I finally got around to updating my blogroll with you and a few others also now on it – yep it took some time.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
